Mercer County Council of Republican Women

On May 13, a group of local, active Republican women met to reorganize the Mercer County chapter of the Council of Republican Women. These officers were elected: Amber White, president; Stacy Stafford, vice president; Wilda Boyd, treasurer; Elizabeth Shearer, secretary ;and Karen Powell, publicity.

Plans for the upcoming year were discussed, and future meetings were scheduled for the second Monday of each month.

The June 10 meeting will feature special guest speaker Tim Butler, district director for U.S. Rep. Mike Kelly. The meeting will be held at the Republican Headquarters at 124 S. Diamond St, Mercer, and the public is cordially invited. Light refreshments will be served.

For further information. call 724.662.4060.

Mercer County Democratic Party

The Mercer County Democratic Party held its monthly meeting May 9, at the Hermitage municipal building. After a welcome by President Andy Harkulich, the meeting was called to order and the Pledge of Allegiance was recited and the Mercer County Democratic Committee Mission Statement was read.

The attendees then heard a brief introduction and discussion of their candidacy from Margaret Lucas, judge; Deborah Roberson, Sharon School Board; Lucy NiCastro and Michael Muha, Hermitage commissioner; Thomas Johnston, Mercer County sheriff; and Dr. Robert Multari, Mercer County commissioner

Diane Syphrit reported on the community involvement of the Mercer County Democratic Party through a two-mile clean up of a section of Route 62 from Hermitage to Mercer for the state Adopt a Highway program, volunteering at the Community Food Warehouse and drivers participating in the Soap Box Derby. Judy Hines reported about the Pop-up Voter registration that was held.

Hines discussed the upcoming Delegate Train Session. It was reported that there was a donation for a professional logo that could be used for brand identity items.

The next meeting will be at 6:30 p.m. June 13 at the Hermitage Municipal Building.

Alpha Omicron Chapter of Delta Kappa Gamma

The Alpha Omicron Chapter of Delta Kappa Gamma Society had its second spring chapter meeting May 1 at Soni’s Restaurant in New Castle. Alpha Omicron Chapter President Karin Kosior called the business welcomed members.

Scholarship Chairperson Yvonne Chichin presented the annual Caroline Daverio Grant-In-Aid Scholarship to two Westminster College junior education majors. Early Education and Special Education majors Janelle Fox from Ellwood City and Jenna Rinker from Slippery Rock each received checks for $500.

Nancy Blaskewicz, Barbara Borts, Bonnie Fodor, Julie Gettings and Barbara Geary were inducted into the Delta Kappa Gamma Organization by Second Vice President and Membership Chairman Linda Morrison. Members and guests enjoyed an Italian dinner buffet.

A memorial for deceased member Judi Banas was presented by member Nancy Babos. President Karin Kosior presented chocolate bouquet favors to members to celebrate the chapter’s 62nd birthday, and member Nancy Babos wrote a song to celebrate our chapter birthday. Members participated in a rededication ceremony in which they stated their continued support of the society.

A chapter picnic is planned for July 17 at Linda Morrison’s home.

Members of the chapter are active and retired women educators from Mercer and Lawrence counties. The organization provides fellowship, encourages professional and personal growth, endows scholarships towards graduate studies and enrichment activities, and supports desirable legislation in the interests of education and women educators. Any women educators interested in joining or wanting more information may contact Morrison at